My Trip to England – Whitby – Part 7

Whitby is a seaside town in Yorkshire, northern England, split by the River Esk. On the East Cliff, overlooking the North Sea, the ruined Gothic Whitby Abbey was Bram Stoker’s inspiration for “Dracula”. Nearby is the Church of St. Mary, reached by 199 steps. The Captain Cook Memorial Museum, in the house where Cook once lived, displays paintings and maps. West of town is West Cliff Beach, lined with beach huts. Wikipedia.

To me, the crowning glory of Whitby are the ruins of the Whitby Abbey.

To reach St. Mary’s Church and the Whitby abbey one must climb 199 steps to the top of the East Cliff above Whitby.

      

At the  top of the hill there is a magnificent view of Whitby.     St. Mary’s cemetery sits at the top of the cliff overlooking the town.

                                       

After visiting St. Mary’s Church, we venture on to the ancient Whitby abbey ruins behind the church. Both the church cemetery and the abbey ruins were the backdrops for  Bram Stocker’s  horror story of “Dracula”.  Here is a link to the story of “how Dracula came to Whitby”.

                                           

Back in town, Whitby is a tourist’s delight for cafes and restaurants, as well as book stores, souvenir shops, and art galleries.

  

Mr. Seagull was eager to pose for me.  He was very patient and unafraid as I came closer and closer to take his picture.

    

Skywatch Friday.

Our Watch

Our World Tuesday Graphic

Orange You Glad It’s Friday?”

Outdoor Wednesday

Outdoor Wednesday logo

Through My Lens.

21 thoughts on “My Trip to England – Whitby – Part 7

  1. “To me, the crowning glory of Whitby are the ruins of the Whitby Abbey.” Imagine thinking about these ruins and Bram Stoker’s “Dracula” at the same time! But you’re right. What once was, and what is now, are the things that lead writers and poets to express themselves, and explorers like Captain Cook to seek to understand the world.

  2. Thank you very much for this tour, as i haven’t seen these in other posts. And of course i might not be able to visit England in this lifetime. I am awed by the strength of those structures which has been standing there with the elements through time!

  3. Thanks for visiting my blog. I know Whitby well since my in-laws live only 50 miles from there. In fact, one of the first dates I had with my future husband was to Whitby! I hope you had fish and chips when you were there – they are always fresh and delicious!!!

    • That is what impresses me the most, the architecture of a town’s historic buildings. No, I am also impressed with the new, sometimes totally awesome, new buildings I’ve seen in Liverpool and London!

  4. Warm greetings from Montreal, Canada! What a lovely post! My grandparents on my father’s side of the family are from Kent, England. I absolutely love your perspective in these images, and your photos are beautiful! I am going to look through your other posts as well, I have never had the opportunity to visit England (or pretty much anywhere,) as my budget is very constrained, so I want to thank you so much for sharing your travels!

    • Thank you Linda. I never thought I’d ever get to travel outside the USA, but circumstances came up and I took advantage of them! And in the process was able to form some lovely friendships! Now if only customs/immigration would be a little kinder so I can revisit!

Leave a Reply

