Archive | September 8, 2017

My Trip to England – the Wirral

NEW BRIGHTON

This is part two of My Trip to England. I took loads of photos of the many lovely areas in the Wirral. The only problem is, I’m not sure that I remember where each photo was taken. Hopefully, my English friend, Robert, who lives in the Wirral, will recognize where each photo was taken and correct me if I get the village wrong! That’s why I’ve decided to make this blog all about the Wirral, instead of each town separately.

What and where is the Wirral?

The Wirral is located in northwest England across the Mersey River from Liverpool and consists of many towns and villages. The peninsula is approximately fifteen miles long and seven miles wide. The Merseyrail, a commuter train, runs through many of these small towns. I love the train system in England! Oh, that we had a train system running in the US like this! I only had to walk about a block to the train station and then travel to New Brighton, West Kirby, Wallasey Village, Port Sunlight, Bidston, Birkenhead, and more, most in the matter of minutes. The same trains would travel in the other direction across the river to Liverpool, Crosby, Southport, and many other little towns.

First, let’s get on the train at the Birkenhead North station and travel to  New Brighton.
IMG_1938

New Brighton, England

New Brighton, England

New Brighton, England

New Brighton, England

New Brighton, England

One of six mermaids lining the streets of New Brighton, part of the
Mermaid Trail.

IMG_1911-001.JPG

IMG_1916-001.JPG

IMG_1917-002

Fort Perch Rock is a coastal defence battery built between 1825 and 1829.

IMG_1924-001.JPG

IMG_1918-001.JPG

One of three cast iron shelters made in the late 19th century.

IMG_1928-001.JPG

Black Pearl pirate ship, an art installation, constructed mostly with drift wood.

Shared with:

Skywatch Friday.

Our Watch

Our World Tuesday Graphic

Orange You Glad It’s Friday?”

Outdoor Wednesday

Outdoor Wednesday logo

Travel Photo Thursday

Budget Travelers Sandbox

