Home Away From Home – That’s Where My Heart Is

Time to see another part of the world!  The United States was the only place I’d been in all of my 70-plus years.  After my husband died two years ago I moved from one side of the country to the other.  But after awhile, I kept asking God for a purpose in my life.  I was staying very busy with women’s service clubs and church work but something was missing.  Then I thought about my so-called “bucket list”.  I only had one thing on it – go somewhere in the world outside of the United States.  Years ago I had dreamed about going to England, but not on a regular tourist trip, more like staying in the country and seeing how people in England lived and I wished I knew somebody over there so I’d be able to do that – like friends used to come see me when I lived in Las Vegas.  Sure, they wanted to see Las Vegas, but knowing somebody to show them around and just be there made it easier for them to come visit Vegas!  That is what I wanted in order to go to England, somebody I knew.  Well, one day a fellow artist thanked me for commenting on one of his paintings.  It turned out he was from Scotland, so after some shop talk, I thought, “I think I can do this” – and I did!  That is all it took for me to be brave enough to come to the UK – another human being that I knew could answer any questions I had about the country – but instead of England I ended up in Scotland!  Perth Scotland to be exact.

Here are some pictures I’ve taken of the area.  The town of Perth has about the same population as Ocala, Florida, the town I was living in before coming here.  I chose to live in the heart of the city near the St. Johns Shopping Centre so I’d be near most anything I needed in the way of food, banking, clothing (like coats!), electronics, etc.  And, when I found a flat it turned out to be right where a bus stop is!

 

photo 1

Ancient buildings stand

Weathered walls wearing green moss

A step back in time

 

photo 2

 

 

photo 6

St. Matthews Church of Scotland

 

photo 44

St. Ninian’s Cathedral

blwch-001

Black Watch Museum

Shared with Our World Tuesday

and Skywatch Site
Our World Tuesday Graphic

14 thoughts on “Home Away From Home – That’s Where My Heart Is

  1. It is always nice to know someone in a strange city. I am glad you took the plunge and went to Scotland. Your pictures are beautiful. Have a great time in your home-away-from-home!

  2. Good for you. I was born in Dublin Ireland and even though I have spent 60 years living in Canada, and I love it, Ireland still calls to me. I’ve been lucky to visit it often along with many other places in this world.

    • Hi Lisa! I tried to go to your email thinking it was a website! Then it dawned on me who “Lisa” was! It’s really nice here and I’m enjoying the cool/cold weather immensely! I have not been doing much with my blog here but I post regularly on Facebook if you can get on it. I’ll give you an updated email soon!

  3. LOL. I haven’t done Facebook as yet…overly cautious perhaps. But glad I checked your blog. Had been wondering where/how you were doing. Cool/Cold weather sounds good-today we are 77, overcast and occasional rain, a nice change for us…Which would be the best email address to use for you?

Leave a Reply

