In My Day – a poem

Here is a poem to share with imaginary garden with real toads.

DH has always loved the past – and me, I’d like to think, am much more progressive and in the Now or future of things; I say this as I listen to Pandora Radio – Harry Nilsson’s “Everybody’s Talking'”, Mama Cass’s “Dream a Little Dream of Me” and The Band’s “The Weight”. My! My!

In My Day

Where’s my remote?
Why are these controls so small?
Give me the Zenith Space Commander
Any day!

Look at those singers – that’s singing?
Give me Bing Crosby any day.
And that’s a band?
Give me Harry James or Zazu Pitts any day!

Where’s my remote?
Time for my daily fix
Now for some Lawrence Welk.
Ahh, I’ll take Welk any day!

L. Grimley

the imaginary garden with real toads
7 thoughts on “In My Day – a poem

  1. Poetrypea – he is truly a curmudgeon! Hannah and Talon, Welk is the only music that soothes his soul. Thank God for Welk! He is in his twilight years (86) and it’s good that their music can take his mind off his ailing body for awhile. Happy New Year to everyone!

Leave a Reply

