Flashback to 1965 New York World’s Fair – Skywatch –

Remember the 1965 New York World’s Fair? I do. I lived in Hialeah, Florida at the time and Mom lived in Miami. When she heard New York was going to have a World’s Fair she applied for a job right away – and got one in Germany’s Rathskaller serving beer. After it opened and she had a brief vacation time, she invited me to come stay with her so she could show me the Fair and New York.

I flew up and stayed with her for several days. We took in the whole World’s Fair; I remember seeing “It’s a Small World” – the same one they have in Disney World. It was quite exciting! Also, Mother took me to see the Rockette’s in Radio City Hall and afterward we ate in Sardi’s Restaurant. I’ll never forget my dinner was turkey tetrazzini – absolutely delicious! It’s hard to believe it is close to fifty years since then!! Where in the world does the time go?

12-18-2010 2-12-18

12-18-2010 2-11-055

12-18-2010 2-12-8_004



Go to Flashback Friday if you’d like to see more flashbacks in history!

While looking for some old  photos for Flashback Friday I came across some negatives that I converted to digital prints – but had them on the wrong setting or something (can’t remember exactly how it happened to tell you the truth!) and ended up with negatives in my computer.   I had a lot of fun seeing what I could do with them.  If I had wanted to turn them into positive prints Picasa has an invert which will turn a negative into a positive – or vice-versa.

Capture3-003

Capture1-001

Sharing with:
Orange You Glad It’s Friday
Skywatch
Creative Every Day

15 thoughts on “Flashback to 1965 New York World’s Fair – Skywatch –

  1. So happy to see these pictures. I am from Queens and just barely a teenager during the Worlds Fair. My dad also worked there part time at the Ford building. He would get us free tickets and I would go with friends on weekends since it was a bus ride from my house. I have such fond memories of that time. Thanks for reminding me.

  2. Another thing I remember that was really neat – the Moroccans dressed in their long white robes parading down the street playing their musical instruments.

  3. I’m so glad you shared these pix! … My “head” knows I was there (w/ parents), but I’ve precious few memories. What a thrill to see the Rockettes and dine at Sardi’s! Your mom sounds really cool!

Leave a Reply

