Sweet Memories of a Fish Tale

I just found this terrific meme- Flashback Friday where you post a photo of someone or somewhere from the past.   And today I also came upon a great Facebook page: Grew Up in South Florida in the 60s-70s-and 80s.  This was pretty exciting looking over all these photos of familiar places where I grew up.  Last year I started converting some of my old photos and negatives to digital photos.  One of them is a picture from 1956 or ’57  of me, Jimmy (my first husband) on the right in the photo, and his brother Sonny.  We used to love to go fishing in the canals along the Tamiami Trail in my hometown of Miami (I say hometown because I lived in Miami almost my whole childhood and through my 20’s and 30’s, but I was born in New Jersey).  Jimmy was the consummate fisherman.   He knew where, how and when to fish and always came home with a cooler full of fish -and he and I would clean them all, have a fish fry for the relatives or give them away, since he would only eat fresh fish.

Look at those stringers of fish!

10-15-2010 14-40-061

15 thoughts on “Sweet Memories of a Fish Tale

  1. Hi Lessandra! What a coincidence that you found Flashback Friday and were also raised in Miami. My father and his family were from Jersey! I was born and raised in the Miami/Ft. Lauderdale area. I lived down there until I was in my late 20’s. I live in Sarasota county now, never left Florida and never plan to! Love your photo, and it’s so nice to “meet” you!

    • Aren’t you lucky to still live in Florida! My daughter moved from Plantation to Ocala last year and loves it. I’m really glad I stumbled across your blog and Flashback Friday and hope to participate often!

      • I lived in Ocala for a few years before moving to the Sarasota area. Ocala was a little too quiet for me going there from Ft. Lauderdale. I called it Slo-cala at the time. Ask your daughter if she knows where Golden Hills is, that’s where I lived when I was there. So glad you found Flashback Friday. I’m looking forward to having you participate weekly with us 🙂

        • She loves it – the school system in Plantation had become very troublesome and she had PTSD from a whole host of things that happened all in the same time period -so getting away from the stressors has helped tremendously. My grand-daughter loves it too – and in four years will go to college in Gainsville. I’ll ask her if she is familiar with Golden Hills. See you Friday!

  2. Weren’t you so cute in those rolled up jeans and a white shirt?! I would have ruined that shirt fishing! Great memories! I have uploaded old pictures to my computer and put them on a flash drive so we can preserve them. I love Flashback Friday!

    • You’re welcome. I have a similar problem of not always being able to leave my comment from WordPress, as there isn’t always a name/URL to sign in on and I have to use my Google blog address (but I have my WP as my main website). Thanks for coming by!

  3. I love old fishing photos especially when they have girls in them. I was one of the few girls I knew who liked to fish as a kid.

  4. I never got to fish as a little girl – but my first marriage of 17 years was full of fishing! And I loved it – not so much in the open sea but in the bay around Miami and the Keys and the fresh water canals and lakes. Husband #2 of 25 years is not a fisherman so I’ve only been fishing once with my son, who likes to fish but lives clear across the country. You, on the other hand, are a real died-in-the-wool outdoorsman (or girl) 🙂

  5. Gosh, but this photo makes me think of my parents … how they loved the Miami area! The only fishing I’ve done was the deep-sea variety while on vacation; and to be truthful, I think I only went along so’s to be on a boat. (lol) Your share made me smile!

Leave a Reply

