In Memoriam – SparkyRipple 1999-2013

IMG_0345-002

Sunday morning our dear pet, SparkyRipple, died.  She was fourteen years old,  and being a German Shepherd mix, that is a ripe old age for a dog her size.  But it still doesn’t help ease the grief of losing such a sweet pet.  Now she’s gone to cross over the rainbow bridge where Sushi, her dearest friend, will meet her.

RAINBOW-001

When Sushi passed away in 2007 Sparky was so forlorn and sad.  In 1999 when I left Arizona to go to Florida to await the birth of my grand-daughter and to help her mom for the first four months I  really missed our two dogs, Armstrong and Mandy.  So as a surprise for my birthday, my daughter gifted me with a pomeranian named Sushi that we had seen the week before and I had absolutely fallen in love with her .

A week or so later I received a call from my husband back in Arizona and he gave me the shocking news that someone had put a dog in our back yard – a German Shepherd mix!  We had never had a big dog for a pet, so I tried to talk him into taking her to the animal shelter but he just couldn’t do it – he really liked this little-puppy-about-to-be-a-big-dog.  In the end, we kept the dog and named her SparkyRipple – Sparky for short.   So he also was given a dog for a birthday present (we have birthdays just five days apart).  I left having two dogs and came home owning four!

When Sushi and I drove back to Arizona we had a wonderful bonding experience.  She enjoyed traveling as much as I did! The first week home Sushi got along with Armstrong and Mandy right away – Mandy was just a little bigger than her and Armstrong, our only male dog, kept to himself.  But Sushi showed a great interest in Sparky from the beginning.   She’d get really excited and want to play with Sparky but was a little afraid of her big size.  Slowly though she would inch closer to Sparky when she was laying down.  Pretty soon Sushi would go all the way up to her and give her a kiss.  They became best of friends, and as I said, Sparky really grieved when she died and the few times that she would come in contact with a little dog she’d become excited and would want to play and have the same type relationship she had with Sushi.  She had this desire until last year when Sunnie came into our lives.  Sunnie is our white and orange cat who was born and raised outside with dogs the first two or three months of her life.  So she had absolutely no fear of Sparky and won her heart right away.  After that, Sparky’s motherly instincts were satisified.

In the beginning of February Sparky started limping on her left front leg and I took her to the vet.  The vet examined her, all her tests were okay; she said Sparky had severe arthritis and put her on an Ansaid med.  It became a little better in a few weeks but then returned and I had a appointment to go back to the vet’s this week.  Her entire left leg became swollen and she definitely wasn’t feeling well Saturday night.  When I awoke at seven Sunday morning I went to the balcony overlooking the family room downstairs to see if she was in her bed, but she wasn’t, so I went downstairs to see where she was laying.  There she was, laying on the tiled dining room floor, the first room I would go into after coming downstairs.  After moving her back onto the carpet in the family room I stayed with her and she passed away about an hour and a half later.

But,

Sparky’s Spirit lives
In me, in Roy and Mandy
She was such a joy!



Wordpress - Feb 2013-001


Sharing with
Mosaic Monday
Blue Monday



8 thoughts on “In Memoriam – SparkyRipple 1999-2013

    • Thanks Carol. After I wrote this I read that writing a tribute helps ease the grief. I’m not sure about that – but it is a comfort when I’m feeling bad to come here and look at her and “talk” to her in my head 🙂

  1. The pain of losing a pet is great. I’m sorry for your loss.

    Check the date again. You have 2014 and that’s a year away.

    Have a good Blue Monday, Lessandra.

    • Sally – thanks! I don’t know why I do that occasionally (I found two checks I wrote in November 2012 and wrote 2014!!! Why is 2014 in my mind NOW?? Oh well, I’m sure age has something to do with it. 😀

Leave a Reply

