Sketching and Sewing on a Sunday Afternoon

Here’s my contribution to Sunday Sketches  This is my grand-daughter and the household cat, Cassie. I used watercolor pencils on watercolor paper.

IMG_5611-001

 

And here it is hanging in our guest room.

IMG_5129-002

 

I want to share my baby doll with Sunny Simple Sundays. I went through a period a few years ago where I was making doll clothes from remnants or small articles of clothing I picked up at the thrift store or garage sales. I made this little dress for my 1968 Ideal doll (I don’t know her name – if anyone does, let me know). I found an apron with colors that I liked and a pattern that I had for dolls her size. What I did was lay the pattern on the apron in such a way that the hemmed apron was the skirt part of the dress, hence no hemming! There were a few other neat short cuts derived from starting from an article of clothing already made but I don’t remember what they were 🙂 If you are interested in this kind of sewing you might want to check Pillows a-la-Mode and The Renegade Seamstress. They both have some awesome projects and they explain how-to’s very well!


IMG_5601-002

IMG_5605-001

IMG_5596-001

IMG_5608-001

IMG_5609-001

IMG_5610-001

P.S.  If you will notice some of my photos have a thin white line running through the middle of the picture – I don’t remember dropping my camera but can’t figure what else this can be other than a hairline crack.    Hopefully, I can get it fixed ’cause I really like this camera – a Canon Powershot SD990 IS and definitely don’t like having to retouch all my pixs.

Sunny Simple Life

Sunny Simple Sunday

24 thoughts on “Sketching and Sewing on a Sunday Afternoon

    • Thank you Anne. It’s one of the few watercolors I’ve done that I truly like. Colored pencils are great – they have the dreaminess of watercolor but are easier to manage.

    • Another blogger said maybe it was a “dead pixel” – sounds like a poor joke, but there really are dead pixels! I will definitely be investigating to find out if it can be corrected.

  1. I’d say you are definitely a multi talented lady. Your watercolor picture is wonderful! What a treasure! I love your doll too. Thanks for the visit to my blog and your kind comments. It made my day!

  2. You’re drawing is beautiful and I love your sweet doll. I’m not sure who she is but you made a cute little dress for her. I love the little heart you added. I love dolls and have a big collection. I sometimes like to sew for them…but haven’t in awhile! Hugs!

  3. Hubby said maybe a cracked sensor…..just now getting to my Sunday drawings…..I need more hours in my day!! Gorgeous dolly. 🙂

    • Tell me about it! (not enough hours) Thank you for the camera input – I think I’ll write to Canon and see if they can fix it or know someone who can. Yes, I love my dolly! 🙂

Leave a Reply

