Protected By Angels

Go to Sensational Haiku Wednesday for more haiku (prompt today is revisited) and ABC Wednesday for more posts on the beginning of the twelfth round of the alphabet – A! A is for angels.

Memories from past
Bring thanksgiving for angels
From our God above

King James Bible – Psalm 91:11
For he shall give his angels charge over thee, to keep thee in all thy ways.

IMG_5146-001

Out of a sound sleep I bolted upright. Just before awaking I saw (dreamed?) a car was coming right at me – and I awoke with my heart pounding. What did this mean? Was this the end? I was visiting my daughter in Florida and in a few days I would be headed back to Georgia to pick up my motor home which was being repaired and then go to my brother’s home where my mother was visiting until I returned to take her back to Cape Cod to pack up her belongings and move back to my home in Arizona.

When I finished dressing and was having breakfast with my daughter I felt compelled to tell her
my dream and said, “I just want you to know I love you and Stephanie (my grand-daughter) – just in case you don’t see me again”. The dream was so vivid, so real – I had never experienced a dream like that.

A few days later I had returned to Georgia, picked up my repaired motor home and was ready to start on our long journey to Cape Cod. At this time, mother was 92 years old, and we were traveling with my little Pomeranian , Sushi, and her two cats, Ginger and Pudy Cat. We all piled in the RV and headed on down the Interstate highway, stopping occasionally to stretch our legs, take rest room breaks and gas up.

The second day on the road we were in Virginia and I noticed it was time to refuel, so after pulling into the gas station, Mother said she wanted to go into the small convenient store, which was unusual since we had already visited the restroom before leaving that morning. I helped her into the store and went back to gas up the motor home. When all was taken care of, I went inside to pay the cashier and there was mother paying for a couple of angel figurines she had found and just had to have! After we climbed aboard Mother put her angels in the glove compartment for safe keeping. And we pulled out and headed up the Blue Ridge Parkway.

It was a nice stretch of highway – four lanes, two headed north and two going south, divided by autumn-tinged scenic foliage. We had only been driving about ten miles and I was in the inside left lane when all of a sudden, about two cars in front of me, I saw a red car go flying into the air and come crashing down into the middle of the two lanes. This happened so fast it was like a dream! In what seemed like split seconds, all the cars beside me and in front of me had disappeared and all that was in front of me was a red car, spinning and sliding right towards me. In just that brief second I had to decide, is the car going to slide off the road in time for me not to hit it – or is it going to spin right into me? I waited as long as I could and the car was just a few feet in front of me when I swerved to the left and floored the gas pedal. We made it! And I quickly pulled off the road and looked behind me: the red car had come to rest right in the middle of the road, totally mangled. It evidently had hit the guard rail at the side of the road and ricocheted back into the road. Mother saw a man helping a lady to the side of the road and she was sitting on the highway guard rail. I saw the man who had pulled off in front of me running to the lady with a blanket. We were at the bottom of an incline and looking back could see the cars were backed up about a mile. I called 911 as soon as I saw the victim was being tended to and reported the accident and where we were located.

When Mother and I got back into the motor home and drove off I thanked God and His angels for keeping us safe.


Join the fun!

ABC Wednesday

5 thoughts on “Protected By Angels

Leave a Reply

