Zyzzyva – What you say?!

What is a zyzzyva? Well, zyzzyva is the last word in the dictionary. Yeah, so, what does it mean? A zyzzyva has the distinction of being a weevil in the southern hemisphere .

def: zyz·zy·va [noun] 1. Any of various tropical American weevils of the genus Zyzzyva, often destructive to plants.

Zyzzyva species

There once was a zyzzyva named Cree,
A wicked old weevil was he,
He chewed up the leaves
And flattened the trees
And left nothing behind but debris.
                                     L. Grimley

The only other meaning I could find for zyzzyva is the Zyzzyva Journal – a journal of West coast writers and artists established in San Francisco in 1985. I started reading one of their posts they have on their blog which sounds very interesting and have added the journal to my bookmark.

This is my first post participation with ABC Wednesday. For more zzzz’s go visit!


14 thoughts on “Zyzzyva – What you say?!

    • Mine too 🙂 I love words and play a lot of Word With Friends. After awhile I got tired of looking up all the words I didn’t know. I think what I will do now is write them down and in the future look them up for ABC Wednesday when that letter comes up. Nice way to remember what the word means!

  1. Welcome and what a fabulous amaZing post for your first time! We look forward to seeing you in Round 12!

    Leslie
    abcw team

  2. Welcome aboard the crazy world of ABC Wednesday. Always so encouraging to see new members joining the mayhem each week. I am basing Round 12 on our new German Shepherd pup, Bing. 11 weeks old on Friday.
    If you would like to write an introduction for any of the letters please give me a shout.
    Denise ABC Wednesday Founder and Team member.

  3. Wonderfully unique post for ‘Z’ ~ lovely photo ~

    (A Creative Harbor) aka ArtMuseDog and Carol ^_^

    Did receive your lovely haiku (haiga) on Monday ~ Thank you so much ~ Glad I won it ~ will send a separate email ~ but wanted to tell you I received it ^_^

Leave a Reply

