Happy Halloween – Boooo!

It’s a few days early, but I wanted to share this with Mosaic Monday. I think there is a wee bit of blue showing so let’s include Blue Monday over at Smiling Sally’s and also Creative Every Day Prayers go out to all you folks on the East coast in the path of hurricane Sandy. Please stay safe!

The pictures of witches and warlocks, gypsies and goofballs are my husband and I in the mid-’90s. Those were the good old days when I was still working as a medical transcriber at Stanford Hospital. Everyone in our department dressed for Halloween – what fun! After work my boyfriend and I (now my husband) would make the rounds of the piano bars, which were still popular in the Bay area in Northern California. I’ll never forget one year, the Stanford students were throwing a big Halloween haunt in a wooded area where Mr. and Mrs. Leland Stanford were buried in a big mausoleum in a wooded area on the Stanford campus. The rock music was blaring unbelievably loud and everyone was dancing (it’s not easy to dance holding a broom!). Well, it wasn’t too many months later when the enormous oak tree the students were dancing under died. I felt very remorseful for taking part in this – but was told that the tree probably was on it’s way out anyhow because there was some sort of beetle infestation in the oaks. I hope the kids back East can have a belated Halloween if the hurricane messes up the 31st!

Smiling Sally

11 thoughts on “Happy Halloween – Boooo!

  1. Spooky! Thanks for sharing. I’m sorry to take so long to comment, but my computer acted up.

    I look forward to reading your comment on my blog.

    Happy Blue Monday, Lessandra.

  2. Such a fun post! I am sad for the East Coast folks struggling thru this horrific storm. Praying hard.
    But your fun costumes and delightful reading made me smile today! Have a beautiful and safe Halloween and enjoy the holiday!

Leave a Reply

