Macro Monday Brings Blooms and Fruit

Psalm 118:24 – “This is the day the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.”

Around three in the morning I took Sparky and Mandy in the backyard for their last leak before going to bed. As I shined my flashlight on our one and only “citrus cocktail” tree I spied this tiny little lime blossom and fruit, so I went inside and got my camera and took the above photo.  Two days later I checked it again  and the blossom had fallen off,  revealing this:

I’ve searched all over and can’t find evidence of any other fruit.  And actually, this isn’t when I usually smell blossoms on the tree – uh-oh! I just remembered something – about a week ago I smelled orange (or citrus) blossoms, looked all over to see where the scent was coming from, even scanned my citrus tree but didn’t see any blooms.  I guess maybe the lime part of the tree was in fact blooming but didn’t see them.  The reason this is called a cocktail tree is because there are four different citrus fruits grafted onto a single root stock.  On my tree there is a Valencia orange, naval orange, mandarin, and a Bearss lime.  It is about five or six years old and so far it’s produced two good seasons of about a dozen fruit.  Except, not a single mandarin – my favorite!  Hopefully, this will be a good season, as last year wasn’t – I haven’t researched it, but it seems to make good sense that fruit-bearing trees have resting seasons  after a bumper crop (well, too me, it was a bumper crop!)

Related Links:  http://gardening.sheknows.com/2011/03/03/fruit-cocktail-trees/

For other macro pixs visit Macro Monday.



Blue Monday

Here is a clearly blue selection for blue monday – a collection of blue milk glass. For more “blues” visit smiling sally atBlue Monday




Smiling Sally

5 thoughts on “Macro Monday Brings Blooms and Fruit

  1. Your dishes are blue-tiful! Thanks for sharing.

    *NOTE: You did not complete your link! Please return to link in a picture on BLUE MONDAY link.

    I look forward to reading your comment on my blog.
    Happy Blue Monday, Lessandra.

  2. Pingback: A Poem About Oranges – Publish N Prosper

Leave a Reply

