Paint Party Post – Art Journal continued

Day four since starting my art journal.    I’m pretty satisfied with this drawing.  Drawing #2 I used watercolor pencils and the page buckled quite a bit, so in the future I think I’ll stick to drier mediums in this journal.  Drawing #3 was a charcoal doodle.   I really want to do some collaging, stamping and such, just hate to drag all my art supplies out again.  Especially since we are expecting company second week in October and my art room is a disaster!  I mean, it looks like an earthquake hit and shook everything in the room all over the place.  But, not to worry, as my husband used to tell me: “it really isn’t as bad as it looks”.   I’m sharing this with Paint Party Friday and Creative Every Day.




I need to get some fixative for charcoal drawings – or doodles such as this, because they sure mess up anything they come in contact with.

As you can see, the paper is all rumpled  – and that is just with a  little water.     I had planned on having a smooth background, not streaks, but figured  to stop before the paper was a total mess!  Oh, and I just bought  what I think is a new product by Crayola – colored glue and  two-toned spiral glitter glue stick.  I found it handy to spread around the cut-outs to firmly hold the edges plus put a little sparkle on the page.






                                                             

18 thoughts on “Paint Party Post – Art Journal continued

    • And wouldn’t you know, the October theme on Creative Every Day is TREE! I don’t usually like to draw trees but this one was fun! Probably because it was an imaginary tree 🙂

  1. Great pages! I actually love the journals with buckly pages and so fat in the end it has to be held together by a beautiful ribbon. Somehow I feel it tells such a story and that it begs to be opened to spill out its goodness. Have fun with your journal you are off to a great start. Happy PPF

    • I know what you mean – my mother, and my husband’s mother, both had little notebooks jammed full of their favorite receipes, some written and some clippings, and you definitely need to tie them so everything doesn’t spill out.

    • No, I meant when HIS mess gets out of control and I react, he says it isn’t as bad as it looks – so my art room wouldn’t even phase him. (He has OCD, seriously). I hope you don’t “disown me” because you have said you are a “neat freak” 😳

  2. Looks like you had fun in your art journal with the mediums you had out. I don’t mind a bit of buckling, but my art area is a disaster at the moment, it is one of my jobs for this weekend!!

  3. very nice. i especially like the charcoal sketch. i’m always hesitant to use them because they create such a mess but i love the results. enjoy your company!

  4. Thank you all! I will definitely get some fixative (I must have given mine away ’cause I can’t find it) because I do like working with charcoal – and pastels, which also are messy if you don’t fix them.

Leave a Reply

