Out-of-the-Garden II and a tanka too

Here is a mosaic of some of the vegetables out of my gardens from the past.  I simply can’t wait until the weather cools down and work can begin on my square foot gardens. I’m chomping at the bit – raring to go! When I look at these fine vegetables I wonder how and why I ever stopped gardening in the first place.

Well, I really know why – the dearth of growth the last two seasons because of the hot weather coming too soon in the season, like two seasons ago it was over 100F for two weeks in April!

And just when my tomato plants were starting to produce like crazy the Japan earthquake hit and then I started worrying that the Fukushima radiation may possibly be drifting into this area and affecting our gardens.  The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) had set up monitors in different states where it was thought radiation might blow in with the Gulf Stream coming from Japan across the Pacific and into the United States

As I was preparing this post, I decided to double check some of my facts (like the monitors) since it’s been seventeen months since the meltdown in Fukushima, and what I came across dampens my spirit again and reminds me anew why I stopped gardening.  This article is in the VC Reporter and it indicates that there is really no USA or Japanese government investigation presently going on into the effects of the radiation coming out of the plant and the waters around the plant that are still traveling across the Pacific Ocean on the Gulf Stream currents.

Once again, human nature’s way of dealing with problems, if they are really big ones, ignore them, hide from them, pretend they are not there, deny them – until catastrophe strikes and the problem cannot be ignored! Oh well, now how do I segue into a better more positive frame of mind? How about a tanka?

Earth and ocean shake
Trouble brews across waters
As man bravely fights
Poison spills on land and sea
God and nature will redeem

This post is being linked to Mary’s Little Red House for Mosaic Monday and Smiling Sally for Blue Monday. Thank you Mary and Sally for allowing fellow blogger’s to link and share with one another!

Smiling Sally

One thought on “Out-of-the-Garden II and a tanka too

Leave a Reply

