Another Sunday Scavenger Hunt

Today on Another Sunday Scavenger Hunt we  were supposed to find photos to relate to five words: Mobile; Hanging by a thread; a collage; always look on the bright side; and, home using fresh photos taken this week.  Well, fortunately I did use my camera this week and was able to use all but one photo from this week and one from my archives of pixs (which is allowed under the rules).  Here goes!

Mobile

I guess this is a great way to be mobile!

This weekend Bullhead City had their sixth annual River Regatta- rafting down the Colorado River for eight to nine miles.  The city was expecting about 30,000 people to participate this year – amazing considering there were probably under 100 participants the first year!  But word had spread to the four corners of the USA and water lovers and river rafter lovers from all over came.  My sister-in-law and I found a not too populated area on a boat ramp where we snapped away for several hours.  The actual rafting went from 7 am till 2:30 pm and prizes were given out for best decorated floats.  Where we were standing the temperature was 108F but the Colorado River was ice cold!  My SIL stood in the water to stay cool and I sat in a chair and poured water all over my body and head to keep cool.  Thoroughly enjoyed it!

Hanging by a Thread

(my sanity)

After more than two weeks of flooding, searching for the plumbing leaks, having  more than fifteen holes cut in the walls and jackhammering the floor, I was hanging unto my sanity by a thread!

Collage

Bullhead City River Regatta

Always look on the bright side

A rainbow always follows the rain

Home

It may seem silly, but when I was looking for a photo that brings to mind “home”, when I came to this one, I thought,  this is it!  About six years ago we bought this “cocktail” tree – or a multi-citrus tree.   It grows naval oranges, valencia oranges,  limes, and mandarin oranges.  The problem is  it sits in the wide open spaces, receiving the sun all day – here in the low desert where the temperatures in the summer reach 120+F.  The first three years I put up an assortment of coverings, the kind you use for camping or a small half umbella like you use on the beach.  But with the high winds we get, inevitably by the end of the hot season they were torn into shreds – not even worth trying to repair.  The next two years I figured maybe the tree was “tough” enough to endure the extreme heat, but it lost a lot of leaves and turned sunburn yellow.  After agonizing over this, and trying to figure what I could put over it that would still be easy to remove if the winds suddenly came up, voila! I thought about the trellis formation I put up a few years before to grow my cantaloupes and tomatoes on.  Why couldn’t I use the same type frame for a cover over the citrus tree?  So, I went the hardware store and bought some 2’rebar, 70″ conduit and 4 couplers; poured some stucco into the hole I made for the rebar, put the rebar in and when the stucco dried put the conduit pipes over the rebar.  Then I joined a 5′ pipe across the top with the couplers.    I had some green patio screen covering that let’s the light and air in but keeps the sun out.  Right now I attach it with some thin wiring but I think maybe I’ll try some sort of velco strips to hold it in place which would make it easier and faster to pull off – like a few days ago when a fast-moving dust storm hit with 60-mile winds it seemed to take forever untwisting that wiring while holding up one of the pipes that had come lose from the coupler.  If anyone has any good ideas, pass them my way 🙂

In case you are interested, here is the video I took of the rafters going down the Colorado River.

15 thoughts on “Another Sunday Scavenger Hunt

  1. I like your “cocktail” citrus tree. Wonder if it will grow in Florida. All the citrus trees in our County had to be destroyed a few years back because of canker. They ran out of money and could not compensate all those who had to remove their trees. Now they are permitting them again. maybe I’ll try!

  2. I’m sure they grow in Florida if you don’t live too far north. It’s terrible that the oranges got infected with canker because it really effects our OJ supply! And this year CA had several freezes which hurt their crops greatly. Do you have a garden blog as well as your bird blog?

  3. While it’s not as hot at my house as it is at yours, your collage really made me feel cooler! Love the pretty blues of the sky and water and the contrast of the bright rafts and umbrella!! I also love your rainbow image!! Gorgeous capture!

    • I’m glad for that! It was really fun to watch with all the different get-ups people were wearing, as well as what they were floating in. Did you know there is a pot of something at the end of every rainbow? I used to wonder if anyone ever saw the other end and one day I was driving to work and saw a rainbow and as I drove closer, the end of the rainbow turned out to be right over the hood of my car (I kid you not!) Shortly after I got laid off and was given a nice pot of money with enough to put a sizable amount down for a new car – which I really needed! Isn’t that amazing!? 🙂

Leave a Reply

