And How Does Your Garden Grow?

Welcome to my new theme!  (Just like a woman – always changing her looks).

These are marguerite daisies I had growing in my square foot garden a season ago.  The daisies were surrounded with herbs – Italian parsely, mint, thyme and garlic.

Growing Herbs in the Home Garden is a good website for the beginning gardener. It has a list of all the herbs, how to grow and harvest each species, and uses ranging from food to liquor to perfume – and more. There is nothing like going out to your garden to snip off some parsley and garlic chives, pull out a few small onions and add them to the meal you are cooking. I can’t wait till the weather cools down a bit so I can get my garden started!

Out of the Garden Salad/

10 thoughts on “And How Does Your Garden Grow?

  1. I must have been a subborn child, because the title of your post today recalls my Mom singing it to me with a bit of reproach… Mistress Mary, Quite Contrary….

    But thanks for your link to the Growing Herbs In Your Home Garden. The groundhog has ha a field day this year in most of my herbs. I surely hope he doesn’t take a liking to my rosemary since it’s grown so nicely it’s now a small shrub. I keep it in a clothes basket so I can bring it into the porch in winter.

  2. Believe it or not, I was thinking of titling it “Mary, how does your garden grow?” but decided on “And How…” because I’ve titled several of my posts from books or songs. It isn’t easy growing most herbs here in the desert – can’t grow them inside worth a darn. But have had really good luck with parsley, mint, garlic chives and cilantro. Wish I good do so well with basil, sage, tarragon and a few others.

Leave a Reply

